This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.

SUSTAINABILITY AT ELLI

Bali Landschaft
Bali Landschaft

Sustainability is a matter close to our hearts. It accompanies us every day - from the first step of the manufacturing process to the distribution of our jewelry. What is particularly important to us? Conservation of resources during the manufacture of our products, protection of our environment, but also social responsibility towards our employees. These three topics are the basis of our activities on the way to becoming a company that operates as sustainably as possible.

"I love our working culture. We work together as a team and with our hearts.
Not even the distance and time gap between Bali and Hamburg separates us."

Sahat - Head of IT team

People

social sustainability

We are proud of the close cooperation between our employees at our locations in Hamburg and Bali. Together, high-quality jewelry designs are created here, which are then mostly forged in traditional manual work in our factory in Bali .

Our own manufactory enables 100% transparency in production and gives us the opportunity to show you the origin of your jewelry. Incidentally, JULIE & GRACE is a member of Amfori, an organization that works to improve social and ecological standards in companies. All of our jewelry is made under fair working conditions.

Amfori BSCI Code of Conduct

Our production is regularly audited according to the BSCI code of conduct (Business Social Compliance Initiative). Our last audit took place in October 2022. It is examined whether the processes, requirements and guidelines of our company really correspond to the BSCI code of conduct. And they do. This includes paying our employees appropriate wages and not tolerating forced or child labor or discrimination in the workplace.

Because the well-being of our employees is very important to us, we attach great importance to comprehensive occupational safety, both in production and in our offices in Hamburg and Bali.

Elbe workshops

At our Hamburg location, we have been working successfully with the Elbe workshops for some time. We are therefore happy about two employees who have become part of our team as part of an inclusion program.

female empowerment

Extraordinary in Asian countries, but true: at our production site in Bali almost exclusively women work in management positions. Because we not only promote skills and potential to enable equality, we also place a special focus on the compatibility of family and career. With our flexible working time model, it is possible for our employees to develop professionally and at the same time to be there for the family.

“In our company I like the people and the working atmosphere.
We treat our colleagues as family that brings a positive vibe and so we can work with fun."

Kunti - production manager in Bali

planet

environmental sustainability

The fact is: every person and every company leaves an ecological footprint. Our goal is to sustainably minimize that of JULIE & GRACE and remain climate-neutral.

Climate neutral shipping

To achieve this, we want to reduce our CO2 emissions to a minimum. How do we do it? For example, by shipping your order in a climate-neutral way. We offset the emissions generated during shipping by supporting certified environmental projects. With our CO2 offsets, we support climate projects from ClimatePartner.

Environmentally friendly packaging

Our shipping packaging is FSC certified and therefore particularly environmentally friendly. Our jewelery boxes are also FSC-certified and are made exclusively from recycled paper. This means that our packaging can be disposed of easily and in an environmentally friendly manner. At the moment we cannot completely avoid the use of plastic sleeves to protect our products. That is why we are working on an environmentally friendly solution to avoid single-use plastic in the future.

Climate neutral company

As a climate-neutral company, together with ClimatePartner, our climate protection consultant, we calculate our CO2 emissions every year and offset them. With this we support the combined project CO2 compensation + marine protection. For every ton of CO2 compensated, an additional 10 kg of plastic is collected as part of the Plastic Bank Initiative. In total, we at JULIE & GRACE have already offset over 128 tons of CO2. Our supported climate protection project also includes many Asian countries, to which we have a very special connection through our manufactory. You can find more information on this topic here and our tracking ID is 17886-2210-1001.

In our offices, we work almost exclusively digitally and therefore hardly need any paper. We use green electricity and have our drinking water from the tap treated by a water filter system. So plastic bottles are not to be found with us. With our flexible home office concept, we try to reduce traffic-related CO2 emissions.

“What I like most about our company are the people
and their spirit of continuous improvement.”

Santi - Director in our manufactory

product

Product-related sustainability

We mainly use precious metals such as 925 sterling silver, yellow gold, white gold and rose gold for our products. Therefore, these pieces of jewelry are fully recyclable. All returned products are first checked, cleaned and, in the best case, resold. Jewelry that is no longer saleable is melted down, as the precious metals can be fully recycled.

Our sterling silver jewelry is made from 50% to 100% recycled material. Our long-standing production partners and suppliers are currently converting their production processes so that the proportion of processed material can be steadily increased . In the future, the non-recycled portion will consist primarily of LBMA-certified silver and gold. Incidentally, the London Bullion Market Association regularly checks the manufacturers of the precious metals based on strict qualification criteria. What we attach particular importance to: When purchasing diamonds, we only consider KPCS- tested diamonds. The aim of the Kimberley Process Certification Scheme is to prevent international trade in conflict diamonds through state certificates of origin.

Lean production

Since our foundation in 2008 we have been producing on demand. This means that we really only make jewelry that you buy. Because we want to conserve resources right from the first step of the process.

That's why we rely on the so-called one-piece flow management and thus on the continuous optimization of our production and supply chain. In this way, we can also produce jewelry that is not in demand, avoid mass production and also keep our inventories and space low. Here you can find out more about our manufactory.

Its a lot to do...

We have set ourselves the goal of getting a little better every day - in terms of the environment, our employees and our products. That's why we've put quite a few things on our agenda, such as:

Nachhaltigkeitsziele bei Elli

We are aware that we are not perfect and want to continuously improve. So if you have any suggestions for us, please send us an email to info@julie-grace.de.

Diese Seite unterstützt deinen Browser nur begrenzt. Wir empfehlen dir, zu Edge, Chrome, Safari oder Firefox zu wechseln.

NACHHALTIGKEIT BEI ELLI

Bali Landschaft
Bali Landschaft

Nachhaltigkeit ist für uns eine Herzensangelegenheit. Sie begleitet uns tagtäglich - vom ersten Schritt des Herstellungsprozesses bis zum Vertrieb unserer Schmuckstücke. Was uns dabei besonders wichtig ist? Ressourcenschonung während der Fertigung unserer Produkte, der Schutz unserer Umwelt, aber auch die soziale Verantwortung unseren Mitarbeitern gegenüber. Diese drei Themen sind die Basis unserer Aktivitäten auf dem Weg zu einem so nachhaltig wie möglich wirtschaftenden Unternehmen.

"I love our working culture. We work together as team and with our hearts.
Not even the distance and time gap between Bali and Hamburg separates us."

Sahat - Leiter des IT-Teams

People

Soziale Nachhaltigkeit

Wir sind stolz auf die enge Zusammenarbeit unserer Mitarbeiter an unseren Standorten in Hamburg und Bali. Gemeinsam werden hier hochwertige Schmuckdesigns entworfen, die dann in traditioneller Handarbeit größtenteils in unserer Manufaktur auf Bali geschmiedet werden.

Unsere eigene Manufaktur ermöglicht 100%ige Transparenz in der Produktion und gibt uns die Möglichkeit euch die Herkunft eurer Schmuckstücke zu zeigen. JULIE & GRACE ist übrigens Mitglied bei Amfori, eine Organisation, die sich für eine Verbesserung der sozialen und ökologischen Standards in Unternehmen einsetzt. All unsere Schmuckstücke werden unter fairen Arbeitsbedingungen gefertigt.

Amfori BSCI Verhaltenskodex

Unsere Produktion wird regelmäßig nach dem BSCI Verhaltenskodex (Business Social Compliance Initiative) auditiert. Unser letzter Audit hat im Oktober 2022 stattgefunden. Dabei wird untersucht, ob die Prozesse, Anforderungen und Richtlinien unseres Unternehmens auch wirklich dem BSCI Verhaltenskodex entsprechen. Und das tun sie. Dazu gehört, dass wir unsere Mitarbeiter angemessen vergüten und weder Zwangs- noch Kinderarbeit oder Diskriminierung am Arbeitsplatz dulden.

Weil uns das Wohl unserer Mitarbeiter sehr wichtig ist, legen wir hohen Wert auf einen umfassenden Arbeitsschutz, sowohl in der Produktion als auch in unseren Büros in Hamburg und auf Bali.

Elbe Werkstätten

An unserem Hamburger Standort arbeiten wir seit einiger Zeit erfolgreich mit den Elbe-Werkstätten zusammen. Wir freuen uns daher über zwei Mitarbeiterinnen, die im Rahmen eines Inklusionsprogramms Teil unseres Teams geworden sind.

Female Empowerment

In asiatischen Ländern außergewöhnlich, aber wahr: an unserem Produktionsstandort auf Bali arbeiten fast ausschließlich Frauen in Führungspositionen. Denn wir fördern nicht nur Kompetenzen und Potentiale, um Gleichberechtigung zu ermöglichen, wir legen außerdem besonderen Fokus auf die Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf. Mit unserem flexiblen Arbeitszeitmodell ist es unseren Mitarbeiter*innen möglich, sich beruflich weiterzuentwickeln und gleichzeitig für die Familie da zu sein.

“In our company I like the people and the working atmosphere.
We treat our colleagues as family that brings a positive vibe and so we can work with fun."

Kunti - Produktionsleiterin auf Bali

Planet

Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit

Tatsache ist: jeder Mensch und jedes Unternehmen hinterlässt einen ökologischen Fußabdruck. Unser Ziel ist es, den von JULIE & GRACE nachhaltig zu minimieren und klimaneutral zu bleiben.

Klimaneutraler Versand

Um das zu erreichen, wollen wir unsere CO2-Emissionen auf ein Minimum reduzieren. Wie wir das schaffen? Indem wir zum Beispiel deine Bestellung klimaneutral versenden. Denn wir gleichen die beim Versand entstehenden Emissionen durch die Unterstützung zertifizierter Umweltprojekte aus. Mit unseren CO2-Kompensationen supporten wir Klimaprojekte von ClimatePartner.

Umweltschonende Verpackungen

Unsere Versandverpackung ist FSC zertifiziert und daher besonders umweltfreundlich. Auch unsere Schmuckboxen sind FSC zertifiziert und bestehen ausschließlich aus recyceltem Papier. So können unsere Verpackungen einfach und umweltschonend entsorgt werden. Zur Zeit können wir den Einsatz von Kunstoffhüllen zum Schutz unserer Produkte noch nicht ganz umgehen. Deshalb arbeiten wir an einer umweltfreundlichen Lösung, um Einwegplastik zukünftig zu vermeiden.

Klimaneutrales Unternehmen

Als klimaneutrales Unternehmen berechnen wir zusammen mit ClimatePartner, unserem Klimaschutzberater, jährlich unsere CO2-Emissionen und gleichen diese aus. Damit unterstützen wir das Projekt "Ausbau erneuerbarer Energie in Asien" und das Kombi-Projekt "Klimaschutzprojekt + Meeresschutz". Dabei werden für jede kompensierte Tonne CO2 zusätzlich 10 kg Plastik im Rahmen der Plastic Bank Initiative gesammelt. Insgesamt haben wir von JULIE & GRACE schon etwa 182 Tonnen CO2 kompensiert. Unsere unterstützten Klimaschutzprojekte umfassen auch viele asiatische Länder, zu denen wir durch unsere Manufaktur eine ganz besondere Verbundenheit haben. Weitere Informationen zu diesem Thema findet ihr hier und unsere Tracking ID lautet 17886-2210-1001. 

In unseren Büros arbeiten wir fast ausschließlich digital und benötigen deswegen kaum Papier. Wir beziehen Öko-Strom und lassen unser Trinkwasser aus der Leitung durch eine Wasserfilteranlage aufbereiten. Also sind Plastikflaschen bei uns nicht zu finden. Durch unser flexibles Home-Office Konzept versuchen wir verkehrsbedingte CO2 Ausstöße zu reduzieren. 

“What I like most about our company are the people
and their spirit of continuous improvement.”

Santi - Direktorin in unserer Manufaktur

Product

Produktbezogene Nachhaltigkeit

Für unsere Produkte verwenden wir hauptsächlich Edelmetalle, wie 925er Sterling Silber, Gelbgold, Weißgold & Roségold. Deswegen sind diese Schmuckstücke vollständig recycelbar. Alle retournierten Produkte werden bei uns zuerst geprüft, gereinigt und im besten Fall weiterverkauft. Schmuckstücke, die nicht mehr verkaufsfähig sind, schmelzen wir ein, denn die Edelmetalle können vollständig wiederverwertet werden.

Unsere Sterling Silber-Schmuckstücke bestehen aus 50% bis 100% recyceltem Material. Unsere langjährigen Produktionspartner & Lieferanten stellen aktuell ihre Produktionsprozesse um, damit der Anteil an aufbereitetem Material stetig erhöht werden kann. Der nicht recycelte Anteil wird zukünftig vorwiegend aus LBMA zertifizierten Silber und Gold bestehen. Die London Bullion Market Association prüft die Hersteller der Edelmetalle übrigens regelmäßig anhand von strengen Qualifizierungskriterien. Worauf wir besonderen Wert legen: Beim Einkauf von Diamanten kommen für uns nur KPCS geprüfte Diamanten infrage. Ziel des Kimberley Process Certification Schemes ist die Unterbindung des internationalen Handels mit Konfliktdiamanten durch staatliche Herkunftszertifikate.

Lean Production

Seit unserer Gründung im Jahr 2008 produzieren wir auf Nachfrage. Das bedeutet, wir stellen wirklich nur Schmuckstücke her, die auch von euch gekauft werden. Denn schon im ersten Schritt des Prozesses möchten wir Ressourcen schonen.

Deswegen setzen wir auf das sogenannte One-Piece-Flow Management und damit auf die kontinuierliche Optimierung unserer Produktions- und Lieferkette. Auf diesem Weg können wir auch wenig nachgefragte Schmuckstücke produzieren, Massenproduktion vermeiden und außerdem unsere Lagerbestände & -fläche geringhalten. Hier erfährst du mehr über unsere Manufaktur.

Es gibt noch viel zu tun...

Wir haben uns vorgenommen, jeden Tag ein bisschen besser zu werden - im Sinne der Umwelt, unserer Mitarbeiter und unserer Produkte. Deswegen haben wir uns noch so einiges auf die Agenda geschrieben, wie z.B.:

Nachhaltigkeitsziele bei Elli

Wir sind uns bewusst, dass wir nicht perfekt sind und wollen uns kontinuierlich verbessern. Falls du also Anregungen für uns hast, dann schicke uns gern eine E-Mail an info@julie-grace.de.